Jamie Oliver’s Egg and Mango Chutney Flatbreads

Jamie Oliver: two words that in my family have proven to be a rather contentious topic of discussion. Put simply, amongst my family of 5, those in favor of Jamie’s informal, ‘bish bash bosh’ style of cooking stands at an unfair and underwhelming score of 1 – 4; it is me against the masses.

But something happened a few weeks ago while my sister and I were watching TV. Although I had already made a mental note to watch Jamie’s new cookery show, which is about quick and easy food involving recipes that contain just 5 ingredients (even if you’re not a fan of his, you have to admit that this is impressive!), I was not expecting my sister’s reaction. Or maybe I should say lack of reaction because instead of the moans and groans that usually accompany the sight and sound of Jamie’s presence, she was, although she’ll never admit it, taken aback by what she was seeing! She was impressed. Since that evening she has even asked for his new book as a birthday present, well I’ll be blowed..the odds that were once stacked up against me have now left me in a complete win-win situation; my sister getting the book (spoiler-alert: my mum has already preordered the book as she jumped at the idea of my sister cooking more), means I also get to use it too!

jamie 5 ingredients
You can buy the book here: https://www.amazon.co.uk/5-Ingredients-Quick-Easy-Food/dp/0718187725 . Watch his new TV show here: http://www.channel4.com/programmes/jamies-quick-easy-food

Anyway, putting personal spiel aside, there was one recipe that was a particular highlight for both of us: The Egg and Mango Chutney Flatbreads. I love poached eggs but I can never seem to perfect them when I make them myself, so the method of soft-boiling eggs seem like a great, and much easier alternative to try instead. Also, who knew that you could make flatbreads so easily?! And well, anything that involves mango chutney sounds great with me. So before my mum wrapped up my sister’s new birthday present I quickly nabbed a picture of the recipe and gave it a go..…

Here is the recipe:

20170908_140808

 

And my attempt:

 

Snapchat-1836799991

I thought that this turned out pretty well considering I’m a complete amateur. The instructions were easy to follow and despite the occasional sense of alarm due to the multitasking demands of the recipe, the end product was delicious and worked out great as a light but filling lunch. I think this could well by my new favourite way to cook eggs. I must admit my flatbread looks hilarious anaemic compared to the one in the book, so for a personal note of improvement I need to up my flatbread game! I would definitely recommend giving this a go, it honestly took no longer than 10 minutes to make. I am now eagerly awaiting my sister’s birthday so I can finally have a proper flick through the rest of the book and try out some more recipes, stay tuned!

 

6 thoughts on “Jamie Oliver’s Egg and Mango Chutney Flatbreads

  1. For poached eggs, use very fresh eggs! An egg that is one, or two, days old makes things simple as the albumen (white) is firm which makes it all stay together. The older the egg, the looser the albumen, hence why a poached egg ends up all over the pan. Hope that helps. Our family love this recipe, too; Jamie’s 5 has become my bible recently. Try the Asian fishcakes – my children are not keen on salmon, but the addition of the chilli jam makes them love them.

    Like

Leave a comment